Shifts times are created without a worker
being allocated to that shift. In the actions here, a worker who has the
required position and is available for the time of a shift, may be allocated to
that shift. After allocation it is possible to reverse this action.
If the usage of RosterNet was such that
workers could allocate themselves to shifts, then the System Administrator would
remove the visibility of Allocate Shift, so that the worker currently logged in
can only allocate themself to a shift.
Administrator would remove the visibility of Allocate Shift, so that the
worker currently logged in can only allocate themself to a shift.
The System Administrator would not normally have both Allocate Shift and
Allocate Current User actions visible.
Provision is made for the unallocated shifts to be selected, so that
allocation of a worker to these shifts may be performed.
A worker may also be associated with a location for subsequent allocation to
the same location. This is used for a worker who becomes familiar with working
in a given location. Preference could then be given to select workers who have
previously worked in that given location. It is possible to de-associate a
worker so that this action is reversed.
The Automatic Shift Allocation action allows for award conditions to be used
for automatic allocation of shifts and templates.